Muddy Creek Road in VA Beach Scheduled for Temporary Road Closures Beginning November 30

Tuesday, November 17, 2015

​Beginning Monday, November 30, 2015, Muddy Creek Road will be closed temporarily during the day from 7:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. between Indian River Road and Charity Neck Road so that crews can replace drainage culverts that cross Muddy Creek Road.

Traffic will be detoured during the day onto Pleasant Ridge Road and north onto Charity Neck Road, then will return to Muddy Creek Road.

The full road traffic plan for the project will be in three phases:

Phase I:  A “daytime only road closure” (7:30 a.m. – 5 p.m.) from Monday, November 30, 2015 through Friday, December 4, 2015, and in place again from Monday, December 28 through Thursday, December 31, 2015.

Phase II:  A “full road closure” (24-hours a day, 7 days a week) from Monday, January 4, 2016, through Friday, February 12, 2016.

Phase III:  The final phase of the road project will be a “daytime only road closure” (7:30 a.m. – 5 p.m.) plan from Monday, February 15, 2016, through Friday, February 19, 2016, and again on Wednesday, February 24, 2016, through Friday, February 26, 2016.

The new pipes will improve storm drainage flow in the area, and in order to install the pipe safely, this section of road must be temporarily closed to through traffic.

Advanced warning signs will be posted advising motorists of the alternate routes.   A map with the detour routes is attached.

All work is weather permitting.  Asphalt Roads is the contractor for the job.

For additional information, contact Esther Dornin at (757) 385-4131, or at edornin@vbgov.com., or Danny Day at (757) 803-2245.

muddy-charity-detour-a-11-17-15.jpg


​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​