20th Annual Human Rights Awards Program March 20 at Convention Center

Friday, February 28, 2014

The Virginia Beach Human Rights Commission will hold its 20th annual Human Rights Awards Program on Thursday, March 20, at 7 p.m. at the Virginia Beach Convention Center, 1000 19th St. 

After a very thorough process, the commission has selected seven recipients to receive human rights awards. This year’s honorees are:

  • Linda Bright

  • Marcela Chavan

  • Mary Freeman

  • De W. Sube

  • The Faith Works Coalition, which will receive the Daniel M. Stone Humanitarian Award

  • Virginia Beach Police Lt. Shannon Wichtendahl, who will receive the Meyera E. Oberndorf Human Rights for Achievement in Government Award

  • Aaron Banasiewicz, who will receive the Helen P. Shropshire Human Rights Youth Award

“It’s a privilege to recognize these citizens who work very hard for others in our community. Celebrating our 20th year will be extra special,” Commission Chairman James E. Parke said.


Recipients were selected by commission members based on their efforts to promote cultural diversity, social awareness and human rights in our community.


Interested in attending the awards program? Call (757) 385-1158 before Monday, March 10, to purchase tickets for $40 each. Ticket price includes dinner and admission to the awards program. Payment must be made by check. Tickets will not be sold at the door.


The commission advocates for the human rights of city residents by providing educational programming, public forums and referral assistance to those whose rights may have been violated. For more information call (757) 385-1158.


# # #