Virginia Beach Recreation Centers to Undergo Routine Annual Maintenance This Fall

Friday, August 03, 2012

Please note that several Virginia Beach Recreation Centers will close for a short period this fall in order for staff to perform preventive maintenance and minor repairs. Maintenance dates are staggered to minimize the impacts to our customers. But don’t forget that a Virginia Beach Recreation Center membership grants you access to all of our recreation centers, so you can still get your workout in while your favorite recreation center is undergoing maintenance!

Great Neck Recreation Center, located at 2521 Shorehaven Drive, will close Monday, August 27, 2012 and will reopen Tuesday, September 4, 2012. The swimming pool will reopen Monday, September 10, 2012
Bayside Recreation Center, located at 4500 First Court Road will close Monday, September 10, 2012 and will reopen Monday, September 17, 2012. The pool will reopen Monday, September 24, 2012. 
Kempsville Recreation Center, located at 800 Monmouth Lane, will close Monday, September 24, 2012. The recreation center and pool will reopen Monday, October 1, 2012.
Princess Anne Recreation Center, located at 1400 Nimmo Parkway, will close Monday, October 8, 2012 and will reopen Monday, October 15, 2012. The pool will reopen Monday, October 22, 2012.
If you have any questions about our scheduled maintenance, please email or contact our Recreation Coordinators:


Virginia Beach Parks and Recreation’s vision is a balanced, sustainable and value-focused system of parks, recreation and public spaces that creates a sense of community.  We are accredited by CAPRA, the certifying agency of the National Recreation and Park Association. For more information, call (757) 385-1100 (TTY: 711 Virginia Relay), visit or sign up for our email newsletters at​