18th Annual Human Rights Awards Program To Honor Recipients March 15 at Convention Center

Friday, February 17, 2012

The Virginia Beach Human Rights Commission will hold its18th annual Human Rights Awards Program on Thursday, March 15, at 7 p.m. at the Virginia Beach Convention Center.

“We received several wonderful nominations,” commission Chairperson Fay B. Silverman said.  “After a very detailed process, we have selected five recipients to receive human rights awards.”

The 2012 Human Rights Award recipients are:

  • Brandon Middle School Step Team
  • Deborah Maloney
  • Dr. Esther Monclova-Johnson
  • Vincent Schilling
  • Together We Can Foundation

In addition, the commission will present the following recipients with special, prestigious awards:

  • Marie Thompson, who will receive the Daniel M. Stone Humanitarian Award, in memory of the late Daniel M. Stone, former Department of Social Services director
  • Imam Vernon M. Fareed, who will receive the Meyera E. Oberndorf Human Rights Award for Achievement in Government
  • Taylor Hooker, who will receive the first-ever Helen P. Shropshire Human Rights Youth Award

Recipients were selected by commission members based on their efforts to promote cultural diversity, social awareness and human rights in our community.

Interested in attending the awards program? Call (757) 385-1158 before Monday, March 5, to purchase tickets for $40 each, which includes dinner and admission to the awards program. Payment must be made by check. Tickets will not be sold at the door.

The commission advocates for the human rights of city residents by providing educational programming, public forums and assistance to those whose rights may have been violated.

For more information, call (757) 385-1158.