Planning Department Divisions

​​The Planning Department is led by Interm Planning Director Kathy Warren.  There are six divisions:

  • Director's Office Provides executive leadership and customer service, human resources, financial, technical, and development liasion support for the Planning Department.
  • Planning Administration  Provides staff support for planning items to City Council, Planning Commission, Wetlands Board, Chesapeake Bay Board, Historic Preservation Commission, and Historical Review Board.
  • Zoning Administration Responsible for the interpretation and enforcment of the City's Zoning Ordinance and provides staff support for Board of Zoning Appeals.
  • Development Services Center  Coordinates the review and approval of subdivision plats and development plans to ensure engineering compliance.  This division also administers development sureties and coordinates review and recordation of legal documents and agreements. 
  • Permits & Inspections  Administers the Uniform Statewide Building Code and associated laws and ordinances. Permits & Inspections also administers regulations to the Department of Environmental Quality Stormwater and Erosion and Sediment Control as applicable to private development and franchise utilities.
  • Comprehensive Planning  Coordinates the review and update of the Comprehensive Plan​ every five years and provides professional planning and program management support to Virginia Beach elected and appointed officials.  This division also includes Transportation & Transit Planning,  which c​oordinates and implements projects and plans associated with improving the City’s transportation network.  This group also serves as the the City's liaison with Hampton Roads Transit (HRT), our regional agency that provides mass transit and paratransit services to residents and visitors.  

Contact Information