2018 North Landing River / Albemarle Sound Estuarine Symposium

​ 

The City of Virginia Beach, in affiliation with the Albemarle-Pamlico National Estuary Partnership (APNEP), Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS), The Nature Conservancy (TNC), and Old Dominion University, hosted the "2018 North Landing River/Albemarle Sound Estuarine Symposium” on April 19, 2018 at the Virginia Beach Convention Center.  The one-day event was designed to cultivate stakeholder collaboration, while providing awareness to identifying, protecting, and restoring the significant resources of the North Landing River/Albemarle Sound.  Sample topics of discussion included the cultural history of the North Landing Watershed, an overview of the Albemarle-Pamlico Estuarine System, and opportunities for collaboration and partnerships between Virginia and North Carolina agencies, non-profits and educational institutions.  Afternoon panel discussions, networking opportunities and poster sessions were also included.

If you or your organization would like more information about the symposium, please contact Chuck Payne, Environmental Planner at (757) 385-8594 or via email at cpayne@vbgov.com


 

Sea Level Rise Summer Symposium Series​​ Flyer


 

 Agenda

​2018 North Landing River/Albemarle Sound Estuarine Symposium Building a Shared Vision
Virginia Beach Convention Center – 1000 19th Street, Virginia Beach VA
April 19, 2018 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Agenda

​ ​
​Print

​Time

​Event

Presentations​​

Email ​

8:00 am

Registration, Networking & Poster Set‐up

9:00 am

Welcome and Opening Remarks

• Skip Stiles, Wetlands Watch          
Skip Stiles – Director, Wetlands Watch – skip.stiles@wetlandswatch.org

9:15 am

Cultural History of the North Landing River/Albemarle Sound

• Stephen Mansfield, PhD, Virginia Wesleyan University
Stephen Mansfield, PhD – Virginia Wesleyan University – smansfield@vwu.edu

9:35 am

Overview of the Albemarle‐Pamlico Estuarine System

• Bill Crowell, Director, Albemarle‐Pamlico National Estuary Partnership
​Bill Crowell – Director, Albemarle-Pamlico National Estuary Partnership – bill.crowell@apnep.org

10:00 – 12:00 pm

Collaborative Activities Between Virginia & North Carolina

• Moderator: Skip Stiles, Wetlands Watch
Skip Stiles – Director, Wetlands Watch –

10:00 am

Wetlands

• Kirk Havens, VIMS           
Kirk Havens – Assistant Director of the Center for Coastal Resources Management – VIMS – kirk@vims.edu

10:20 am           

State of the Forest

• Brian van Eerden, TNC
​Brian van Eerden – Virginia Pinelands Program Director – The Nature Conservancy – bvaneerden@tnc.org  

10:40 am

Break

10:50 am

Climate Change/Sea Level Rise

• Carl Hershner & Molly Mitchell, VIMS
• Brian Batten, Dewberry
• Michelle Covi, ODU
• Holly White, Nags Head

 

 

 

Carl Hershner – Director, Center for Coastal Resources Management – VIMS – carl@vims.edu

Molly Mitchell - Ph.D Student - VIMS - molly@vims.edu

Brian Batten – Senior Coastal Scientist – Dewberry – bbatten@dewberry.com

Michelle Covi – Assistant Professor of Practice in the Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences – ODU – mcovi@odu.edu

Holly White – Principal Planner for the Town of Nags Head – holly.white@nagsheadnc.gov

11:30 am

Fish Habitats

• Chad Boyce, Virginia Game and Inland Fisheries
• Roger Rulifson, ECU
• Katy Potoka, North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission

 


 

​Chad Boyce – Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries – chad.boyce@dgif.virginia.gov

Roger Rulifson – Professor Department of Biology – ECU – rulifsonr@ecu.edu

Katy Potoka – North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission – katy.potoka@ncwildlife.org

12:00 pm

Lunch, Networking & Keynote Speakers

• Mayor Sessoms, Introductions (invited)/Kirk Havens, VIMS
• First Lady Pam Northam
• Matthew Strickler Secretary, Virginia Department of Natural Resources
• Michael Regan Secretary, North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality
​First Lady Pam Northam – pam.northam@governor.virginia.gov

Matthew Strickler – Virginia Secretary of Natural Resources – Natural.resources@governor.virginia.gov

Michael Regan – North Carolina Secretary of Natural Resources – Michael.regan@ncdenr.gov

1:30 ‐ 4:00 pm

 Panel Sessions ‐ Gathering Knowledge of the APES

• Moderator: Tom Allen, ODU/Kirk Havens, VIMS

1:30 pm

Federal and State Agencies Research/Activities

• Kristi Britt, VDEQ
• Fred Wurster, USFWS Dismal Swamp
• Charlan Owens, NCDCM
• Marty Wiggins, NCDEQ OEE
• Kate Jones, NERR/NC Coastal Reserve
• Mark Bennett, USGS

 

 

Kristie Britt – Virginia Department of Environmental Quality – Kristie.Britt@deq.virginia.gov

Fred Wurster – U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service – fred_wurster@fws.gov

Charlan Owens – North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality – Charlan.Owen@ncdenr.gov

Marty Wiggins – Environmental Education Program Consultant for North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality – Marty.Wiggins@ncdenr.gov

Kate Jones – National Estuarine Research Reserve / NC Coastal Reserve – kate.jones@ncdenr.gov

Mark Bennet – USGS – mrbennet@usgs.gov


2:30​ - 2:40 pm


Break

2:40 pm           

City/County Agencies Research/Activities

• Laurie LoCicero/Jenny Turner, Currituck County
• Barbara Brumbaugh, Chesapeake Public Works
• CJ Bodnar, Virginia Beach Public Works

 

 

Laurie Locicero – Currituck Count Planning – Laurie.Locicero@CurrituckCountyNC.gov

Jenny Turner – Currituck County Planning – Jennie.Turner@CurrituckCountyNC.gov

Barbara Brumbaugh – Chesapeake Public Works – Bbrumba@cityofchesapeake.net

CJ Bodnar – Virginia Beach Public Works – Cbodnar@vbgov.com

3:20 pm

Local Community/Nonprofit Groups Research/Activities

• Robbie Fearn, Audubon Society
• Erin Fleckenstein, NC Coastal Federation
• Justin Park, Duck Unlimited
• Lora Eddy, The Nature Conservancy
• Tim & Michele Adylett

 

 

 

Robbie Fearn – Audubon Society – rfearn@audubon.org

Erin Fleckenstein – NC Coastal Federation – erinf@nccoast.org

Justin Park – Ducks Unlimited – jpark@ducks.org

Lora Eddy – The Nature Conservancy – lora.eddy@tnc.org

Tim and Michele Adylett Michele.aydlett@gmail.com

4:00 pm

Closing Comments ‐ Next Steps

• Kirk Havens, VIMS
Kirk Havens – Assistant Director of the Center for Coastal Resources Management – VIMS –

4:15 ‐ 5:00 pm

Networking and Poster Session

 Keynote Speakers

First Lady of Virginia, Pamela Northam

Pamela Northam became the First Lady of Virginia when her husband, Governor Ralph Northam, was sworn in as governor on January 13, 2018.

An educator, environmentalist and longtime advocate, Mrs. Northam has taken a leading role in Hampton Roads and Virginia to protect water quality and improve the health of the Chesapeake Bay. Most recently, the first lady has served as community outreach coordinator for Lynnhaven River NOW (LRN), a nonprofit environmental group. In this role, she oversaw advocacy and outreach programs for homeowners, congregations and businesses to help them to become more sustainable.
​Prior to joining LRN, Mrs. Northam taught high school biology. Recognizing a need for STEM in elementary education, she became a national award-winning science specialist and worked to develop an inquiry-based, hands-on curriculum for students in grades K through 5. The first lady was appointed to the board of trustees of the Science Museum of Virginia, and she also is a board member of the innovative E3 School in Norfolk.
After studying at Baylor University and the University of Texas, the first lady specialized in pediatric occupational therapy, where her work included rehabilitation hospitals, teaching hospitals, and special education.

The Northam’s have two adult children: Wes, a neurosurgery resident; and Aubrey, a web developer.

Virginia Secretary of Natural Resources, Matthew Strickler

Matthew Strickler is the Secretary of Natural Resources for the Commonwealth of Virginia. Prior to joining the Administration, he served as Senior Policy Advisor to Democratic members of the House of Representatives Committee on Natural Resources. Originally from Lexington, Virginia, Matthew graduated from Washington and Lee University and holds master’s degrees in public policy and marine science from the College of William and Mary and the Virginia Institute of Marine Science. He was a Knauss Marine Policy Fellow in NOAA’s Office of International Affairs in 2007, and worked on U.S. Senator Mark Warner’s successful 2008 campaign. Immediately prior to his time on Capitol Hill, Matthew worked in the Virginia General Assembly as a legislative assistant to then-state Senator Ralph Northam.

Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality, Michael Regan

Governor Roy Cooper named Michael S. Regan Secretary of the N.C. Department of Environmental Quality on Jan. 3, 2017. As DEQ secretary, Regan oversees the state agency whose mission is to protect North Carolina’s environment and natural resources. The organization has offices from the mountains to the coast and administers regulatory and public assistance programs aimed at protecting the quality of North Carolina’s air, water and land, its coastal fisheries, and the public’s health.

Regan joins the Cooper administration after more than 18 years of professional experience focused on overcoming complex challenges through environmental advocacy and regulation. Most recently, he served as the Associate Vice President of U.S. Climate and Energy and Southeast Regional Director of the Environmental Defense Fund. He led the Environmental Defense Fund’s efforts to reduce the impacts of climate change and air quality pollution.
Prior to that, Regan worked with the Environmental Protection Agency’s air quality and energy programs for the Clinton and Bush administrations. Before leaving the agency, Regan served as a national program manager responsible for designing programs aimed at reducing pollution, and market-based solutions to improve energy efficiency, air quality and climate-related challenges.

Regan also founded M. Regan & Associates, LLC, a firm dedicated to helping organizations find transformational solutions to complex energy, environmental and economic challenges.

Regan has served on several boards and commissions focused on the environment. They include the UNC School of Law Center for Climate, Energy, Environment and Economics, Green 2.0, N.C. Commission on Global Climate Change, the N.C. Energy Policy Council and the Executive Steering Committee of Envision Charlotte.
A native of Goldsboro, N.C., Regan has a bachelor’s degree in Earth and Environmental Science from N.C. Agricultural and Technical State University and a master’s degree in Public Administration from George Washington University.

Regan and his wife, Melvina, and their son, Matthew, live in Raleigh.