Volunteer

​​The Virginia Beach Public Library is committed to providing people of all ages with the opportunities, programs, information and materials to help them meet lifelong learning, cultural and recreational goals.  Our volunteer program encourages both adults and teens to be involved in the library through creative original programming, promoting the library in the community and by completing various library tasks.  Our program helps volunteers to gain invaluable work experiences, it increases their knowledge of libraries and library resources, while providing services to library users of all ages.

Please Note: We do not accept court ordered community service volunteer requests at this time.  You may contact the Office of Volunteer Resources about additional citywide opportunities that may fulfill your court mandated needs.

Become a Volunteer

Adults: Please contact the Volunteer Resource Manager (list provided below) at the location you are interested in working at, to learn more about volunteer opportunities with the Virginia Beach Public Library.

Teens: Please visit our Teen page for more information.
 
Please contact the branch Volunteer Resource Manager(s) listed below, before returning forms to your local library to ensure there are current volunteer openings.

​All volunteer positions require: Completed and signed volunteer application and confidentiality agreement.  Background check for anyone 18 years or older. An interview and orientation/training.

​Branch Volunteer Resource Managers

​Volunteer ​Services Coordinator
Angella Butler
​757-385-0156
ambutler@vbgov.com
​Bayside Special Services Library
Ethan Malush
​757-385-2680
emalush@vbgov.com
​Central Library
 Sandra Hopkins
​757-385-0121
shopkins@vbgov.com


​Great Neck Area Library
Michaela Payne
​757-385-2606
mipayne@vbgov.com
​Joint-Use Library
 ​​Lisa Bohn
​757-822-7814
lbohn@vbgov.com
​Kempsville Area Library
Suzanne Jefferis
​757-385-2627
sjefferi@vbgov.com


​Library Administration
​​Angella Butler
​757-385-0156
ambutler@vbgov.com
​Oceanfront Area Library
Gale Thrift
​757-385-2640
gthrift@vbgov.com
​Princess Anne Area Library
Linda Partin
​757-385-2610
lpartin@vbgov.com


​Pungo-Blackwater Library
Ellen Burns
​757-385-7792
eburns@vbgov.com
​Wahab Public Law Library
Elizabeth Osborne
​757-385-4419
eosborne@vbgov.com
​Windsor Woods Area Library
Denise Nichols
​757-385-2622
dnichols@vbgov.com


​Youth and Family Services
Angella Butler
​757-385-0156
​ambutler@vbgov.com
​​

 
  
​​​
Contact Information