​​​​​​​​​​​​The Public Library Board​ is appointed by City Council, with not less than nine nor more than fifteen members, including two members who are high school students (a junior and a senior). The members are appointed for four years, except the student appointments, which are for two years.

The Public Library Board has been in existence since the incorporation of the City of Virginia Beach in 1965. The Board is responsible for making recommendations to the Director of Libraries and also to City Council on all phases of library strategic planning, policies and issues critical to community goals and aspirations.

The Board meets monthly on the second Monday of the month at 5 p.m. at Meyera E. Oberndorf Central Library, 4100 Virginia Beach Boulevard, Virginia Beach, Virginia. There are no scheduled meetings in June, July or August. Please call 385-8709 for meeting information and archived meeting records. ​

Public Library Board Membership List

  • Ryan Reyes, Esq., Chair
  • Nealy Gihan, Vice Chair
  • Thomas Zimmerman, 2nd Vice Chair
  • Harvest Bellante
  • Josie Buni
  • Lynn Carwell
  • Helena Gourdine-Thorpe
  • Robert "Buzzy" Hofheimer
  • Christopher Hutcheson
  • Kelly Miller
  • Kaitlin Roberts
  • Dr. Michael Summers
  • Lisa Varga
  • James Cromwell Young

​​​Meeting Agendas and Minutes

Contact Information