Deferred Compensation Board and Plan Information

The city council has authorized the adoption of the Commonwealth of Virginia 457 Deferred Compensation Plan (COV457), managed by the Virginia Retirement System, as the City's Deferred Compensation Plan subject to the periodic oversight and direction of the deferred compensation board. 

Because the city council has authorized the participation in the COV457 Plan, the supervision of such plan by the board shall be the regular review of the COV457 Plan to evaluate whether such plan serves the interests of the plan participants.

If you would like more information about the COV457 Plan and the investments that are available you may go directly to the or you may also call 1-877-327-5261.

The current record keeper for the COV457 Plan is MissionSquare Retirement, to contact the local area specialist email

Contact Information

 Board Members

Norman "Rocky" Holcomb III, 
City Council Member
Beverly Anderson, School Board Member
Kenneth Stolle, Sheriff/High Constable
Letitia L. Shelton, Director of Finance
Crystal Pate, Chief Financial Officer/Schools
Monica Kopin, Co-Acting Director 
of Human Resources
Linda Matkins, Director of Benefits
Diane Portlock, Payroll Administrator
Stacy Hawks, Employee Relations Manager/Co-Acting Director of Human Resources