City Council


​​The City of Virginia Beach operates under the Council-Manager form of government. ​​​​
The eleven (11) member City Council is the City's governing body.  Members of the City Council serve four-year terms and are elected on a staggered basis.  General elections are held the Tuesday following the first Monday in November in even-numbered years.  All registered voters are eligible to vote for all members of City Council. 

Three (3) Council Members and the Mayor​ serve "At Large" with no district residency requirement.  All other Council Members are required to live in the districts they represent: Bayside, Beach, Centerville, Kempsville, Lynnhaven, Princess Anne, and Rose Hall. 
*Note: Former Council Member Jessica Abbott resigned from her position serving Kempsville District #2 as of July 2, 2021.

View the Current Session of the Virginia Beach City Council via the media ​center.


City Council Formal Session Meeting Schedule

First and third Tuesdays, 6:00 p.m.
2401 Courthouse Drive
City Council Chamber

Meetings will be held on the first and second Tuesdays in July and December.​

Agenda meetings are open to the public.

Informal sessions are held prior to the formal sessions. Starting times are determined by the agenda.

If you have physical, hearing or visual impairments, and need assistance at these meetings, please call the Virginia Relay Center at 1-800-828-1120, and ask them to call the City Clerk at 385-4303 at least 48 hours in advance.

Council meetings are cablecast live on VBTV Cox Cable channel 48, Verizon Cable channel 45, and on's media center. The meeting is rebroadcast on Cox channel 48 and Verizon channel 45 the following Thursday at 7:00 p.m.; Friday at 9:00 a.m.; and Sunday at 9:00 a.m. 
Submit an email m​essage to all City Council members