"You saw that?!" you ask your friend. "How did THAT happen?"
Facebook is a great social tool for keeping up with family and friends until something is shared that causes angst or worse, embarrassment. Remembering these simple guidelines will help you better control your information on Facebook:
Your Timeline is your public face; your newsfeed is your private channel. When you share content, it gets posted on your Timeline. Your newsfeed contains content shared by your friends.
You control who sees what on your Timeline – both content you share AND what others post on your profile. When sharing content, use the Audience Selector button to choose who can see it before you post it. To control who can post on your Timeline and who else will see it, use the Settings button on your Timeline to edit your Timeline Settings.
Only your friends can control who sees what you do (comments, likes, posts) on their Timelines. Sorry! Send them a message or talk with them about your privacy concerns. Use the Activity Log button on your Timeline to review what you’ve done on Facebook and edit who can see it, when possible. You can undo your activity if you can’t limit the audience.
Use the Lists option to better control who you share content with. Create custom lists of friends and family to make it easier to choose a certain audience when you share content. Use the Friends button on a friend’s Timeline to “add to another list” – either an existing list or a new one.
Stay Calm. Get great tips and instructions in the Facebook Help Center or try this Facebook 101 tutorial to learn more.